The Bristol-born forward won the sport’s rising star award in January and continues her success by being picked for her first Games.

In 2015, Owsley contracted meningitis but within six months, she had fully recovered, helped Great Britain qualify of the Olympics and England to win the European Championship.

Eight of the women’s team who won bronze at London 2012 are also in the squad with former Bristol University student Georgie Twigg, Hannah MacLeod, Laura Unsworth and Nicola White all included, while Crista Cullen, Alex Danson, and Helen and Kate Richardson-Walsh are set for their third Games experience.

Clifton hockey’s Joanna Leigh has been placed on standby. 

Women’s Squad:
Giselle Ansley, Sophie Bray, Crista Cullen, Alex Danson, Maddie Hinch, Hannah Macleod, Shona McCallin, Lily Owsley, Sam Quek, Helen Richardson-Walsh, Kate Richardson-Walsh, Susannah Townsend, Georgie Twigg, Laura Unsworth, Hollie Webb, Nicola White.

Joanna Leigh, Eleanor Watton, Kirsty Mackay.