Banner image

Guide To Bristol Jets Badminton

Bristol Jets are a badminton team playing at the highest possible level in Britain, the AJ Bell National Badminton League (NBL).

Here is your guide to all things Bristol Jets.

Who Are The Bristol Jets?

The Bristol Jets were formed in 2016 as part of the group of sports companies owned by Stephen Lansdown, Bristol Sport. Chairman Ian Gorham has a wealth of experience in badminton as the Chairman of the Avon Badminton Association.

The team currently includes London 2012 silver medallist Mizuki Fujii, Bristol-born Jess Hopton, Emily Westwood, Kirby Ngan, double National Champion Nicola Cerfontyne, Devon Minnis, brothers Ben Lane and Alex Lane, former England international Chris Coles, Richard Eidestedt, George Priestman, David Jones. Commonwealth Games gold medallist Rebecca Pantaney is Head Coach.

What League Do The Jets Play In?

The Bristol Jets play at the highest level of competition in Britain, the AJ Bell National Badminton League. Games are shown on tv on BT Sport.

Who Will The Jets Face This Season?

The full Bristol Jets fixture list for the 2016 season can be found below (all home games begin at 7pm):

Team Derby v Bristol Jets - Monday, November 7th
Suffolk Saxons v Bristol Jets - Monday, December 5th
Bristol Jets v Birmingham Lions - Monday, January 9th (7pm)
Loughborough Lightning v Bristol Jets - Monday, January 23rd
Bristol Jets v The University of Nottingham - Monday, January 30th (7pm)
Bristol Jets v Surrey Smashers - Monday, February 6th (7pm)

How Can I Buy Tickets?

Home tickets for Bristol Jets games are available from as little as £3 for under-12s (members) and £9 for adults (members) online via or by calling 0117 963 0600. Click here to view a full price list. Supporters can take advantage of discounts when purchasing a Season Card for all three games this season, click here to purchase a Season Card online.

Where Do The Jets Play?

The Bristol Jets currently play all home games at the WISE Arena at SGS College:

New Road,
Stoke Gifford,
Bristol BS34 8LP

SGS WISE Arena is in a convenient location just off junction one of the M32, and a short ten minute walk from Abbeywood and Bristol Parkway train stations.


There is limited car parking availability at SGS Wise campus offered on a first come first served basis.

Contact Us

You can contact Bristol Jets using the following details:

Tickets: Email or call 0117 963 0600

Hospitality/Sponsorship: Email or call 0117 963 0645

Community: Email

About The AJ Bell National Badminton League

The fastest racket sport on the planet just got a whole lot faster.


The AJ Bell National Badminton League is a new, game-changing opportunity for top-level badminton - the first ever professional national badminton league in the UK.

Created and run by Badminton England, the league made its debut in the 2014/15 season. During that first season, six franchise teams competed in monthly match-nights to be crowned AJ Bell NBL champions.


Now into its third season, the AJ Bell NBL has expanded with new teams entering the league bringing exciting new players and fans who love the drama. The Bristol Jets have joined the league this season alongside fellow debutants the Suffolk Saxons.

The league showcases the best badminton players Great Britain has to offer, top European stars, emerging U21 young talent and home-grown hot prospects battling it out on court. The Jets have Olympic silver medallist (London 2012) Mizuki Fujii and have already faced Rio 2016 bronze medallist Marcus Ellis of Team Derby.

For Season 3, the teams are:

Birmingham Lions

Team Derby

Loughborough Sport

Suffolk Saxons

University of Nottingham Sport Badminton

Surrey Smashers

Bristol Jets


With an exclusive Power-9 match-play format, unique scoring system and dynamic in-game features that makes sure every minute of every match matters as match-nights are broadcast through BT Sport. All five events take place each match night (men’s singles and doubles, women’s singles and doubles and mixed doubles) and one league point is awarded per win, forming a best of 5 score line. Each event is also a best of 5 format, with each set only first to 9, with tied match ups (2-2) decided in a compressed shoot-out set. Also add to this the powerplay points, where a coloured, faster shuttle is worth double points.

It’s badminton, but not as you know it!